Pleasantville mayor leads in close primary

The Democratic primary for mayor of Pleasantville is too close, with Judy M. Ward holding a 73-vote lead in her bid for a second term.

Ward leads Councilman Tony Davenport, 608-535, while retired firefighter Julio Sanchez Jr. comes third with 253 votes. Ward had the slogan for the Atlantic County Democratic Organization.

In the Ward 1 council race, John M. Bettis leads Norman Lee Dennis by 18 votes, 214-195, while Allen Maddox is in third place with 162. Davenport gave up his seat to run for mayor.

The Democratic nomination for an open council seat in Ward 2 was won by Andrea Gray; she defeated Sara Eason 288-209 (42%-30%), with Sharnell Morgan finishing third with 191 votes (28%). Eason had joined Davenport and incumbent Bert Correa did not seek re-election.

Davenport ran for mayor as an independent in 2020 and received less than 20% of the vote against Ward. Ward, a retired CWA member, was first elected to the City Council in 2004.

Council President Carla Thomas won a primary challenge against Elysa Sanchez with 69% of the vote in an at-large race.

Back To Top