Some NM legislative races are still too close to call

Campaign signs in front of the Lomas Clerk’s Annex in Albuquerque on June 4, 2024. (Danielle Prokop / Source NM)

By early Wednesday morning, not all primaries had yet been decided.

The five closely watched races below include incumbents from both sides of the aisle representing New Mexicans from across the state. There are some clear leaders in these races, but the Associated Press has so far refrained from making a call. Stay tuned for updates.

O’Malley is leading in the primary against incumbent Bill O’Neill

Late Tuesday night, three-term incumbent Sen. Bill O’Neill (D-Albuquerque) trailed challenger Debbie O’Malley, a former Bernalillo County commissioner, in the Democratic primary.

At 11:38 p.m., O’Neill had collected 2,118 votes, while O’Malley, according to the Associated press.

There is no Republican candidate for the seat.

Senate District 13 includes Barelas, as well as parts of downtown Albuquerque, the North Valley and Montaño. – Austin Fisher

Boone has a solid lead over Representative Nibert

Rep. Greg Nibert (R-Roswell) faces an uphill battle against Patrick Boone in the Republican primary to represent Senate District 27 in southeastern New Mexico.

At 10:12 p.m., Nibert had 41.4% of the vote, while Boone had 43.2%. A third candidate, Larry Marker, received 15.4%.

Boone had 2,442 votes to Nibert’s 2,341, with 98% of precincts reporting.

There were no Democratic candidates running for the seat, meaning the Republican who wins the primary will likely be sworn in in January 2025.

The district includes parts of Chaves, Curry, De Baca, Lea and Roosevelt counties. – Leah Romero

New senator ready for seat vacated by Cliff Pirtle

Southeastern New Mexico will have a new senator representing its constituents starting in 2025. Roswell Rep. Candy Spence Ezzell defeated Chad Hamill of Hagerman in the Republican primary for Senate District 32.

The current officeholder, Senator Cliff Pirtle (R-Roswell), did not seek re-election. Pirtle has held the seat since 2013.

Senate District 32 includes parts of Chaves, Eddy and Otero counties. There were no candidates on the Democratic side of this race. Ezzell will run unopposed in the November general election. – Leah Romero

Rep. Willie Madrid is trailing in the primary

As Tuesday turned to Wednesday, Democratic candidate Jon Hill led the primary for House District 53 with 630 votes, more than incumbent Rep. Willie Madrid’s 455 votes.

According to New Mexico’s secretary of state, 98% of votes in the race had been counted as of 11 p.m.

House District 53 covers portions of Doña Ana and Otero counties, including portions of the eastern mesa of Las Cruces.

Republican candidate Elizabeth Winterrowd ran unopposed in the Republican primaries. Winterrowd and Hill are likely to appear as opponents in November’s general election. – Leah Romero

Republicans in tight race for House District 62 seat

In the waning hours of Tuesday evening, Republican candidate Elaine Cortez had won 40.4% of the vote in the House District 62 primary, with leading opponents Debra Hicks and D’Nae Robinett Mills.

As of 9:36 p.m., Hicks and Robinett Mills had 38.6% and 21% of the vote, respectively, according to the Associated press.

Cortez had 1,131 votes, while Hicks had 1,082 votes and counted 98% of the votes.

Because no Democrats participated in these primaries, Cortez will run unopposed in November.

Incumbent Representative Larry Scott (R-Hobbs) did not run for re-election to the House of Representatives, opting instead for a seat in the Senate. He has held the House seat since 2015. House District 62 includes parts of Lea County north of Hobbs to the eastern border with Texas. – Leah Romero

The post Some NM Legislative Races Still Too Close to Call appeared first on Source New Mexico.

Back To Top