State House Candidates Discuss Education at Forum

Est. Reading time: 2 minutes

The League of Women Voters of Bucks County and the NAACP Bucks County, along with Bucks County Community College, have hosted a nonpartisan forum on education for the 20 candidates currently running for 10 statehouse seats in the county.

The event, which is free and open to the public, will take place Thursday, September 12 at 7:00 PM at the Zlock Performing Arts Center on BCCC’s Newtown Campus.

All candidates running in the 10 state House districts in Bucks County are invited to participate in the forum, the council said in a news release. The forum, focused on the topic of education in Pennsylvania, will be moderated by social sciences veteran Bill Pezza, who will field questions from members of the public in the weeks leading up to the forum.

The “Candidates Forum: Education in Pennsylvania” will be open to the public and streamed live on BCCC’s YouTube channel.

“This is an exciting and extraordinary opportunity to hear candidates for Pennsylvania state representatives discuss their views on education,” said NAACP Bucks County Branch President Karen Downer. “Our members and the public at large always want to know more about who their candidates are and what their thoughts are on issues important to them and their families, and education is a critical issue in the Bucks County community.”

Voters who would like to hear directly from the candidates are encouraged to contact those running for office in their district and encourage them to participate.

The following candidates are running for state House seats in Bucks County in the 2024 elections:

18th: Kathleen C. Tomlinson* (R), Anand Patel (D)
29th: Tim Brennan* (D), Steve Mekanik (R)
31st: Perry Warren* (D), Bernie Sauer (R)
140th: Jim Prokopiak* (D), Candace Cabanas (R)|
141st: Tina Davis* (D), Noah Boyd (R)
142nd: Joe Hogan* (R), Anna Payne (D)
143rd: Shelby Labs* (R), Eleanor Breslin (D)
144th: Brian Munroe* (D), Daniel J. McPhillips (R)
145th: Craig Staats* (R), Vera Cole (D)
178th: Kristin Marcell* (R); Emma Rosenthal (D)
* indicates the incumbent

District boundaries include:

18th: Bensalem Township and Hulmeville Borough
29th: Buckingham, Doylestown and Solebury townships; The boroughs of Chalfont, Doylestown, New Britain and New Hope
31st: Lower Makefield, Newtown and Upper Makefield townships; The boroughs of Newtown and Yardley
140th: Falls and Middletown (part) townships; Morrisville and Tullytown boroughs
141st: Bristol Township and Bristol Borough
142nd: Lower Southampton, Middletown (part) and Northampton (part) townships; The boroughs of Langhorne, Langhorne Manor and Penndel
143rd: Bedminster, Hilltown, New Britain (part), Plumstead and Tinicum townships; The boroughs of Dublin, Perkasie, Sellersville and Silverdale
144th: New Britain (part), Warminster and Warrington townships; Ivyland City
145th: Bridgeton, Durham, East Rockhill, Haycock, Milford, Nockamixon, Richland, Springfield and West Rockhill townships; Quakertown, Richlandtown, Riegelsville, Telford (Bucks County portion) and Trumbauersville boroughs
178th: Northampton (part), Upper Southampton, Warwick and Wrightstown townships

This local news story was reported using generative AI.

Back To Top