Four states join the Justice Department’s Apple antitrust lawsuit

Four other US states on Tuesday joined the Justice Department’s lawsuit against Apple Inc, alleging the iPhone maker monopolizes smartphone markets, the department said in a statement.

The four states are Indiana, Massachusetts, Nevada and Washington, the Justice Department said. The original lawsuit was filed in March, and 15 states and the District of Columbia joined the lawsuit at the time. The lawsuit alleges that Apple uses its market power to extract more money from consumers, developers, content creators, artists, publishers, small businesses and merchants. The civil lawsuit accuses Apple of an illegal monopoly on smartphones, which it maintains by imposing contractual restrictions on and denying critical access to developers.

The Justice Department has previously said that Apple charges as much as $1,599 for an iPhone, making a bigger profit than any competitor. Officials also said Apple imposes hidden fees on various business partners — from software developers to credit card companies and even rivals like Alphabet and Google, in ways that ultimately raise prices for consumers. Apple has said it plans to ask a federal judge in New Jersey to do so

throw out the case, arguing that it “faces stiff competition from established rivals.”

An Apple spokesperson did not immediately respond to a request for comment.

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Back To Top